Decisions decisions Pro M or Holley Terminator X

I'm a coder at work. R, Python, VBA, etc... Aside from the more natural inclination of a salesman to sell you something he can profit from, I've noticed that some of the other guys at work will seriously argue about how excel is the only way to go doing data analysis. You cannot convince them otherwise. It can take 40 more minutes to do the same task, but they won't budge. Why? Because it's what they're comfortable with. The lesson for me is not that they're dumb, it's that it's human nature to believe that one's most familiar/comfortable/preferential tool is easy to become biased about. Confirmation bias is a real thing. I've become tool agnostic. I don't care what the tool is if it gets the job done. I used to be most comfortable in Python, and before that Excel & VBA. Now, it's R, but I don't begrudge anyone else their preferences. Use something that you know will get the job done, first, and that you are comfortable with second. Or, that you can learn and make new advances/progress on, third. Beyond that, it just doesn't matter.

This translates directly to these systems. Big Stuff 3 was the cat's pajamas when I first decided I was going to get a stand alone. Since then, I've seen people call it garbage. What happened? Holly came along, the industry sold new stuff, and preferences changed. Now, this thread seems to indicate the tide is turning away from Holly, too. Whatever. The BS3 is still working well for me, but when I have another need, I'm probably going to pick up a different system, because I *like* the broadening of my knowledge base and experience.
While I agree with you , I don’t see holley going anywhere anytime soon . Holley is the odd man out in this forum. Everywhere else ? Not so much . Not to say that I don’t like fuel tech and how it’s appealing . Holley is everywhere . Except stangnet. Lol

• Agree
Reactions: 1 user
  • Sponsors (?)