Dragstrip Tech Inspection

Touring23

Founding Member
Dec 29, 2001
Washington
I've been to the track a few times. A few years ago at the old Spokane track a pulse and $20 was about all that was required to get on track. OTOH Renegade wouldn't let me run my 17 second Ranger because I didn't have full-length pants. So now I'm studying up on track tech before taking the Mustang out.

Here's my question: What do I need to get on track?

This article says a helmet is required?! :eek: Is this accurate?

What are some things to bring/wear/prep to get on track? I mean, don't worry about icing the intake and all that advanced stuff, let's just get me into the lanes.

Thanks y'all. :flag:

*edit*
My checklist so far:
Driver's License
Full-length pants
Sleeved shirt
Closed-toe shoes
earplugs
Helmet?! :eek:
Refreshing Gatorade for the loose nut on the wheel
Battery secured (mine is stock)
Coolant overflow bottle (mine is stock)
Acceptable tire tread depth
Inspect for leaks
Money

• Sponsors (?)

99% of the tracks follow NHRA guidelines on needing a helmet if your vehicle runs faster than 13.99 seconds. In any case most tracks will have a few helmets they can lend you if you do go that fast.

Overall looks like you have everything needed to race.

WOW we have 1/8 ile tracks down here all that is required is that you have valid ID no hanging body parts. Helmet is required on any run 7.99 or lower.
Never heard of the pants thing. I always have went in the summer with shorts and flip flops.

The helmet requirement is a problem. I Think I'm close to the 13.99 cutoff.

Dang. I dunno. Maybe I'll make the drive anyway.

Oh, hey, BTW, is this in the wrong forum? Sorry, mine's a '94. I forgot there's a "general" forum.