Electrical Gauges - Electric Vs. Mechanical?

cdurbin

5 Year Member
Jul 27, 2012
North Charleston, SC
I'm trying to decide if I should buy mechanical or electrical oil pressure and water temp gauges.
I've done some reading online and it seems kind of 50/50 on the issue. Some people prefer one over the other. Is one really that much more accurate than the other? It seems like a while lot less headache to install the electrical ones. I'm not very experienced with this stuff so I'm leaning towards an electrical one due to the ease of installation. What do you guys think on the subject.
Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

I agree with you, everyone has their opinion. I think the mechanical are said to be more accurate just because there isn't a conversion between the mechanical force (pressure) to the electrical signal.

I prefer the electrical gauges. I think electrical gauges nowadays are accurate enough that there's no reason to bring hot oil and water/coolant into the cabin just for a bit more accurate reading, if it even is more accurate.

I agree with you, everyone has their opinion. I think the mechanical are said to be more accurate just because there isn't a conversion between the mechanical force (pressure) to the electrical signal.

I prefer the electrical gauges. I think electrical gauges nowadays are accurate enough that there's no reason to bring hot oil and water/coolant into the cabin just for a bit more accurate reading, if it even is more accurate.

There actually isn't any coolant that runs into the cabin. It's a sealed gas filled capillary tube with a probe on the end. My concern is that you can't have any kinks in the tube or it won't read correctly. I'm also concerned about the Oil pressure gauge becuase it does have oil coming into the cabin. The last thing I want is a leak and oil all over my floor.

Well, I ended up doing both. I went with the Autometer Sport Comps. I got a mechanical Temp and an electrical Oil pressure from Summit Racing.