Going to buy clutch kit and accessories, please give me final thoughts!

yellowstang1994

Sep 9, 2004
Hi guys, I just got my credit card so I can go ahead and purchase a clutch kit and everything I might need to do while i'm under there. So I came up with a nice little game plan and a little list of stuff and where I'm going to get it. Can anyone give me any final thoughts on these products and/or the prices and where i'm getting them from? Just any general comments will help. I'm really new to clutches and I been trying to research it the best I can.

Here goes (I'll post prices just so if anyone knows a better deal)

SPEC Stage 1 Clutch Kit (Directly from SPEC) $199.00

Maximum Motorsports:
Pilot Bearing $15.95
Polyurethane Tranny Mount $29.95
MM Clutch Quadrant & Firewall Adjuster Kit $67.41

and....
Rear Main seal from local parts store $8.99

Total Cost: Around $325

I decided to go with the SPEC clutch because I really don't have the money for a Dual Centerforce and don't really have the application, my car is only lightly modded. Furthermore, I hear a few bad things about king cobra and the FRPP clutch. I decided from most comments that SPEC is a pretty well respected clutch and it fits my pricerange.

Any comments? Anything I shouldn't do that I am, or things I should do that I don't have on the list? I'm planning on using the stock cable on the car with the adjuster and quadrant, is that alright?

Thanks, Ted

• Sponsors (?)

yellowstang1994 said:
Hi guys, I just got my credit card so I can go ahead and purchase a clutch kit and everything I might need to do while i'm under there. So I came up with a nice little game plan and a little list of stuff and where I'm going to get it. Can anyone give me any final thoughts on these products and/or the prices and where i'm getting them from? Just any general comments will help. I'm really new to clutches and I been trying to research it the best I can.