Timing Chain Cover

bodavis100

Apr 4, 2011
Hey guys Im new to the whole forum thing but I really like the Idea.

I have a 65 mustang with a 351w in it. I cracked the timing chain cover yesterday so I will be replacing it pretty soon. I was just wondering what all I need to do.
By looking I know I need to take off the fan, pulleys, water pump, fuel pump, and harmonic balancer. What all fluids do I need to drain and do I have to remove the oil pan.

I am young and basically learning as I go so any advice will be appreciated. The thing I am most worried about is the balancer. Would ya'll agree that this is a pretty straight forward job for me to do myself, I do know some but I am pretty good with my hands (I have common sense also).

• Sponsors (?)

You'll need to drain the coolant first from the lowest point you can, there are drain plugs on the sides of the block if they're not seized in there. It won't hurt to drain the oil as you will have to eventually since antifreeze will get into it when you remove the waterpump and timing cover. When it's all reassembled I would probably run some cheap oil/filter on it for a short period ~30min. to get the oil hot and flush out all of the contaminants in the cheap oil change then replace with fresh oil/filter.
You shouldn't have to drop the oil pan. Don't forget a TC gasket set, it'll come with the wp & fp gaskets. I use FelPro.

Make sure you get a similar timing cover as they varied over the years - w -w/o timing pointer, revese flow waterpump, w-w/o oil dipstick hole, etc. and check the depth as there may have been different depths on the backside where the fuel pump eccentric spins. There were different depths on the 289/302 ones in later years and the eccentric would scrape if you used the wrong one, not sure if the 351W is the same.