Unpainted CDC Chin Spoiler

I braught my GT500 spoiler and CDC Classic chin spoiler to my painter and he said that the bumps/rough texture on the CDC chin spoiler would show through.

Has anyone painted over this, or should I go with a "painted" one from Steeda. Which I would assume is primed. Is it made of a different material/made differently - more smooth?

Anyway, I would imagine he could prime the crap out of it, then sand down the primer till its smooth, then paint it.

Then again, I have no experience with paint.

Any info would be much help!

Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

Have you contacted the guys at CDC and asked for advice? I have talked to their technical people (email) on several occassions and they were very helpful and realize we as consumers often alter their products to suit.

Which spoiler did you get? When mine was new it was ready to be primed and painted and was a beige plastic color. But they may have changed how they are made. I know you don't like my aggressive so I assume you got the "Classic" and I have seen a lot of those painted a color or black or colored with a black center.

Good luck with your project.

While CDC does sell one untextured and ready for paint, any good body shop should be able to paint the texturized one. It just take extra prep, as the texture would need sanded off. So yes, it can be done. Just like painting the stock mirrors.

Interesting, I baught mine from American Muscle...it came textured, black ABS plastic. Really flimsy.

Anyway, the guy that is doing the painting said he could not sand this texture because it would melt the plastic? :shrug: I would imagine a nice hand sand would not cause that.

I will have to send it back and order from CDC directly.

Interesting, I baught mine from American Muscle...it came textured, black ABS plastic. Really flimsy.