Went to the local dragstrip as a spectator...

Stever89

5 Year Member
Dec 14, 2009
Biloxi, MS
I'm fairly new to the whole drag racing scene. I've never drag raced anything, but plan to take my coupe when I feel I'm ready, and the car too. So in the meantime I've read and watched videos about it. Next I decided to go the annual "Street Wars" at my local dragstrip. Now I realize "Street Wars" is a "run-what-you-brung" thing, no real competition, all kinds of vehicles, some built up and some plain stock. It's all in fun.

What got me was the overall ignorance of the whole thing by the drivers. I lost count of how many guys staged (double-bulbed) before the other driver even got to the line, how many deep-staged, and how many took passengers. If you're tweaking for better times, why take an extra 150-200 lbs along? I saw the same cars coming back over and over like they were trying to get better times, but had their gf in the passenger seat :D

It was a fun day though, saw some fast cars, saw some complete idiots in ricers too :D

It all made me feel a lot more comfortable about it. I know know if I screw up, I won't the only one by a mile :lol:

• Sponsors (?)

Sounds like "local track USA" to me.

As long as the track owner(s) make no attempt to educate the participants as to proper track etiquette, and do not enforce any safety rules or requirements, then I would expect every bit of what you saw.

(Although I no longer go to any of them,) for a true "reality check" you need to go to a few "grudge tracks" like we have down here in da south.
I'm talkin' abandoned WWII airstrips like Tuskegee, AL. and/or any of an assortment of these obscure strips of asphalt that end up in the middle of nowhere Alabama, Mississippi, or Georgia that I have been to.