what can I do to get as much power out of my 6 cyl

brtnstrns

Dec 19, 2003
Lewisville, TX
I know I've asked a lot of different questions about a lot of different engines but I'm looking at my options since I'm only a high school student and things are kinda hazey on what I can do. So does anyone know of what I can do to get as much power out of my 6 cyl 200? And how much it may cost?

• Sponsors (?)

Well, speaking from experience (I had a blue 65, 200ci coupe in high school), enjoy the style and the fact that girls don't seem to care if it has a 289, a 200, or a hampster in a wheel under the hood. :D

I say this simply because I6's, while they can be hot-rodded, are expensive to mod and don't yield as much power.

I loved the Blue Lady, and I'd buy it back if I could find it, but not to make it fast. Because it was fun just the way it was.

14394BlueLady.jpg

If you don't like my advice, then check out:
http://www.fordsix.com/

not sure about nitrous, might put too much strain on an old mill like that. if you're up to rebuilding it, you can mill the head for more compression, put on some headers, get a pertronix ignitor ignition kit, and strap a supercharger on there (although that costs major $$). there might be some cams, too, i'm not sure. but like others have said...the ladies won't care what's thumpin' under the hood, and the 200 is never gonna be fast enough to play with the big boys.maybe just leave well enough alone? the 200's are torquey lil suckers on their own...

jcp123 said:
the 200's are torquey lil suckers on their own...

Hee hee, There's no telling how many hundreds of feet of hard, old rubber I layed down back in the day with that little coupe. :D

I wonder if that has anything to do with having to replace the clutch after I drove it for a year? :shrug: :p Oh well, by the time I sold it I had it so clean you could eat off of every surface, so I don't feel too bad.