10MPG!!! whats wrong??

Discussion in '2.3L (N/A & Turbo) Tech' started by jstang209, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    i dont know anyone who has one, i dont know how to use one, and dont know where to get one. i mean im sure autozone or something sells them, but how much do they cost?
     
    #41
  2. JB66

    JB66 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Walmart. $20. Follow the simple instructions. You'll feel great once you get the hang of it!
     
    #42
  3. Crovax

    Crovax Type O Danzigative the Dark
    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,573
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Vinland
  4. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    only 20 bux? i thought they would be way more expensive. Ill go buy one tomorrow
     
    #44
  5. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    ok i finally scanned for codes and the only ones that came up was 13 which says my idle is out of range/low and 34 which says my egr valve is not opening properly
     
    #45
  6. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
  7. JB66

    JB66 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Sorry, I'm out of town. Are those codes from the engine off test only or from the engine running test also? If you haven't done the KOER test, you should. The codes you have there aren't going to run your mileage down that much.
     
    #47
  8. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    the engine off test i passed, then the engine running test the codes i said came up
     
    #48
  9. JB66

    JB66 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    jstang, you should have gotten those codes with the engine off test as active codes as well as stored codes. What else do we need to know about your mods that you haven't told us as yet? All of my 2.3 Mustangs have averaged 25-30 mpg even in winter and some hard driving. Is your emergency brake stuck on? Do you live in a valley at the bottom of a 1/2 mile high hill? I'm afaid I'm at a loss at this point. Sorry.
     
    #49
  10. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    i dont haven any mods cept cold air and exhaust.
     
    #50
  11. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    if it was the o2 sensor would a code have popped up for it? b/c my car has 198xxx miles and im not sure if the guy befor me ever changed it.
     
    #51
  12. JB66

    JB66 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Yes, an o2 sensor out of range would show up. My 90 LX H/B has over 267,000 miles on it and I've never changed anything except plugs and wires and cleaning the oil out of the throttle body every 3-4 tanks of gas.
     
    #52
  13. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    what wat about the egr, does that have anything to do with the gas milage of a car?

    and btw where is the egr can someone direct me or post a pic?
     
    #53
  14. JB66

    JB66 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Yes, the EGR function will affect mileage, but it is normally a valve not closing properly rather than the code you got for not opening properly. If you detach the EGR hose with the engine running and connect a hose directly from manifold vacuum to the valve, it should stall the engine. If not, clean the valve.
     
    #54
  15. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    ok, ill try that. Thanks for your help jb
     
    #55
  16. jstang209

    jstang209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton 209
    um, where is the EGR? lol
     
    #56

Share This Page