1993 LX 5.0 Stumbles till it hits 5,000 rpm then takes off?

The car was running great my battery went dead the other day and now the car is stumbling bad. It doesn't even sound the same at idle. It gets up and goes but really doesn't come alive till 5,000 rpm. I replaced the distributor cap and button with a MSD one yesterday and it seemed to help. The car is back firing in the headers from what I can tell. Its not bad just making a popping sound. A buddy on mine is goin to check my timing tomorrow. When I let off the gas pulling up to a redlight the rpm will go up to about 1,300 rpm or so before it drops to about 900 rpm. The car was idleing at about 700rpm when I bought it. Motor seems to be making like a ticking sound or something like that when driving normal at 2,000 to 2,500 rpm's. If I floor it at this rpm it stumbles bad and pops some till it hits 5,000 rpm then it hauls ass. I'm a extreme newbie to mustangs. What do you guys think? The car does have a pretty radical cam in it.

• Sponsors (?)

Your symptoms indicate that your charging system has gone south. The dead battery may have been only a indication that your alternator or some other portion of your charging system is hosed.

Check all your power and ground going to/from the battery and alternator. Have the alternator itself checked out.

Backfiring indicates an extremely rich condition caused by a partial combustion burn. A condition that can be created by a weak electrical system.