1997 GT

STEEDMAN

Nov 8, 2008
ATLANTA
Hello everyone I'm new to this site. I just purchased a 97 gt 5spd. Need advice in adding more reliable power. I have built a few fox body 5.0'S, but im new to the 4.6. The car has 91k miles on it with the current mods h pipe with mac cat back exhaust, king cobra clutch and k&n air filter. I want to boost the power up to around 300hp for starters and need advice on how safely. 1st off I need to replace that crappy plastic manifold that is cracked and started to leak coolant. everything else mechanically is great no other leaks or issues. Any advice would be great.

• Sponsors (?)

Forget the PI heads, just port and polish your nPI heads. :) +++ on everything else.

I disagree, few out there really know how to make NPI heads flow. Not many head porters have good experience with them. A good port job on NPI heads will cost you 700-1000 dollars. I believe Renegade and only a few others do NPI heads.

Get a set of used PI heads complete with cams for 100-200 dollars or so. The intake will cost you another 50-75 dollars. Bolts, gaskets, and your looking at 350-400 dollars for parts. Much cheaper, and more power than stock ported NPI heads with the stock cams and intake.

Are you looking at 300rwhp or 300 at the crank? 300rwhp, you will have to add a set of great cams, LT headers, pullies and a good tune.

I understand money wise but from my understanding nPI heads flow better when ported, or have I been misinformed? Plus Im just not a fan of switching to PI heads, isnt the intake and cams mostly what is the upgrade from nPI to PI mustangs.

I understand money wise but from my understanding nPI heads flow better when ported, or have I been misinformed? Plus Im just not a fan of switching to PI heads, isnt the intake and cams mostly what is the upgrade from nPI to PI mustangs.

Yes, ported NPI will outflow PI's.