3G alternator ?

My alternator died on me last night, so I'm thinking about doing the 3G swap. Looking on ebay and noticed quite a few are the 1-wire type, some people reference the 1-wire as being for a race application not for the street. Would like to hear peoples opinions on the standard 3G vs the 1-wire 3G and pros/cons of each or whatever one you use. I appreciate all the help in advance!

• Sponsors (?)

Well, the obvious would be more wires....other than that it would be the amps supplied by the alternator. I've been usuing a reman 3g for 4 years or so with no problems, just upgrade your wire for the extra amps.

The 1 wire alternators don't start producing a significant charge until the RPMs get above 1200-1500 RPM. That means that you can still have a low charging rate at idle speed.

Think nightime driving on a stop and go freeway with the defroster on. The single wire alternator doesn't charge as well in this situation as a regular 3G alternator

I just bougt two 3g alts for for both my foxs. Both are 150amp, but one is the wire conv. and the other is the 1 wire 3g alt. I've heard all you got to do with the 1 wire is just give it a little rev at start-up and your fine to get it charging.
Ive had two friends that have to do the same thing with there 1 wire.

Matt

I'd add that some one-wires have a provision to hook up the I terminal (to excite the alternator). That is a REAL nice option (as Jrichker said, self-exciting alts leave me a little cold).

Were it me, I'd also just do a conventional 3G style alternator. You can wire it so it is basically a two wire alternator (the power cable and the excitement wire are all that run to the chassis).

Good luck.

what does self excite mean? I seen 1 of the 1-wire that says it is self exciting, is this a option that is good for a street car? My other concern is that alot of the standard 3G say there is bracket modification needed and the 1-wire guys that I emailed all said it is a direct bolt-in.