83 302 potential?

RedFox5.0

Apr 3, 2007
PA
89 Grand Marquis 5.0

Updated look at the bottom

I have a chance to get an 83 302 4bbl for virtually nothing. I have been waiting for an engine to come along like this so I can build it up with pistons, rods, crank, cam, heads, intake, etc and wait for the engine in my 98 stang to **** the bed and then do the swap. My car has 112k on it now. It would be my first engine build but I can tackle it with the help of my uncle. I want to go 302 because these mod engines are so expensive to modify and I am not good with SOHC. So, that leads me to my questions.

-What is the downsides of an 83 engine?
-Can I make my T-45 work?
-Will engine mounts from a 94-95 work?
-What am I getting into?

If you have a real reason why not to do this you can state it but for everyone that is just gonna say stick to the mod engine don't post unless you have a decent reason.

• Sponsors (?)

If you are going to go pushrod buy a explorer engine to use as a base. If you go carbed you can get a couple hundred for the intake that you are not going to use, and you get better heads. Starting with a non roller block is going backwads in my opinion. 83 was rated at 170hp. What is a 94-98 6 banger rated at? T-45 can be made to work and the motor mounts I do believe will work.

T-45 will not work. It's only designed to bolt to the mod motor

'83 302 is a crap engine. It's a boat anchor. The block would probably explode at 250HP. (ok not really but my point is it sucks)

Start with either an 87+ lower end or an explorer motor as a base for a build up.

The pre-85 302's were non-roller motors, so I don't think building up that '83 block would be as simple as slapping on whatever heads/cam/intake you want. Aside from that, the shortblock is still pretty lame, and the pistons suck. As suggested, shop for an '87+ Fox 302 or, better yet, an Explorer 302.