A post a day......

Discussion in '1979 - 1995 (Fox, SN95.0, & 2.3L) -General/Talk-' started by 99FiveOh, Aug 9, 2011.


  1. screamin5oh

    screamin5oh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    centerville oh
    see i run a mitsubishi dlp WD-60638, and i have yet to see a plasma or lcd have a better picture. down draws is it was a 3000$ tv, and of course i cannot hang it on a wall. some of the new led tv's look great, and they are quite a bit brighter then lcd's
     
    #41
  2. VibrantRedGT

    VibrantRedGT "STANGNET'S PENGUIN SMACKER" Super Mod

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    I'm glad you guys dig the Panny Viera stuff because this is my first one. Rog and I usually buy Sony Bravia and I still have my 40" I bought in early 2007 still in my bedroom. It's crystal clear. I tried a Vizio for the first time as well (we have 3, boys bedrooms and family room) and I'm very pleased with them. I've heard rave reviews about the Panny Viera so I wasn't too worried. The same exact features in the Sony was $1117.

    You do get what you pay for. I bought a Dynex (Best Buy brand) for my son a few years ago. It was toast in 13 months (1 month after the warranty expired). After that my wife buys the extra 3 year warranty on every TV. I'll never make that mistake. Stick with the good stuff.

    Vizio
    [​IMG]
     
    #42
  3. Adam95GT

    Adam95GT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Burlington, NJ
    I got chosen to dyno at the am car show.
     
    #43
  4. cjrpony

    cjrpony Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    445
    Showcase:
    30
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Good luck, I go down for a dyno run Monday.
     
    #44
  5. revhead347

    revhead347 I have face herpes.

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,634
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    Acworth, GA
    I have a WD Live, and love it. I got it refurbished off Amazon for $78 or around there. Initially it didn't play every format, but once I hooked it up to my router and let it update like 4 times, now it plays anything. If you want bluray quality, look for torrents in .mkv format. Honestly, with the Viera TV, I can't tell the difference between the .mkv which is like 4gb a movie, and the .avi format which is about 700mb a movie. I just have a 500gb hard drive in my entertainment center, but if you have Windows Vista or newer on your computer, you can put all your media in your shared folder, and the WD Live can find it on your computer via your router. So if you just set up a bunch of stuff to download to your shared folder, you can watch it as soon as it's done downloading directly on your TV. It also have has some limited internet access, like youtube. DVDs just seem rediculous to me now. You have to get up and put the DVD in, and they take up a lot of space to store. I can hold about 1100 hours of movies and shows on that one hard drive and never have to get off my butt to change what I'm watching. Let me know if you need any advice setting it up.

    Kurt
     
    #45
  6. 99FiveOh

    99FiveOh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    69
    Location:
    J-Ville, FL
    I like mkv quality, but on the PS3 it doesn't allow fast forward or rewind capability. If you attempt to jump to a scene or anything like that the movie just freezes and says "file is corrupt". If the WD plays them and allows fast/rewind that's a definite plus!

    I have Windows 7 so I'll have to remember how to point it to that folder. I was hoping it would work like the PS3 and would just be able to browse my computer's HD's to find whatever I want to play.
     
    #46
  7. VibrantRedGT

    VibrantRedGT "STANGNET'S PENGUIN SMACKER" Super Mod

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    221
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Location:
    Boca Raton, Florida
    You guys done any iRacing? I have friends that race in a Formula 1 league on Sundays at 2PM. I need a new computer and I think Rog is going to build me a gaming computer. That new 50" Plasma will be great for simulating racing.

    PS-Check out our thread "We're back with a new Project". New pictures posted in there.
     
    #47
  8. revhead347

    revhead347 I have face herpes.

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,634
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    Acworth, GA
    Yeah, it has fast forward and rewind capability from x2 to x8 speed. I've never been able to do jump to scene on it though. It will be able to browse your computer's HD media so long as it is all listed as shared material. It will bring up a screen that shows folders and such, and you browse with the remote.

    Kurt
     
    #48
  9. davis3

    davis3 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    CA
    Good luck Adam.
     
    #49
  10. 79'293stang

    79'293stang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Finished my engine swap today! Car fought me the whole way but I eventually won....5 days later....
     
    #50
  11. 99FiveOh

    99FiveOh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    69
    Location:
    J-Ville, FL
    :worthlesb
     
    #51
  12. screamin5oh

    screamin5oh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    centerville oh
    i spent all day trying to pack my house up to get ready for moving next week..... not fun
     
    #52
  13. 79'293stang

    79'293stang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Heres the progress. I haven't finished the engine bay cleanup completely yet, still trying to get the idle tuned with this new cam. Took 5 days to swap by myself, its really frustrating because I can get the engine in and out of my SVO in a day. SN95's are just a tad more difficult.
    [​IMG] Before.
    [​IMG] About to come out.
    [​IMG] New engine.
    [​IMG] New engine in car. Still dirty.
     
    #53
  14. screamin5oh

    screamin5oh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    centerville oh

    its going to hunt for idol and hang on you until its tuned, i have run that cam on several combos, but sn95's are touchy
     
    #54
  15. 79'293stang

    79'293stang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    It had issues initially, but once I got my timing done and idle control set properly there has been no problem.
     
    #55
  16. screamin5oh

    screamin5oh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    centerville oh
    if you have stock injectors and maf it will probably be ok, when i first got mine working everything was aftermarket so my computer was like wtf??
     
    #56
  17. screamin5oh

    screamin5oh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    centerville oh
    but you did make the right choice for cams, the f303 cam is the best off the shelf cam there is, i have seen combos from 250 hp run well all the way over 1000 hp, it is ready for anything
     
    #57
  18. 79'293stang

    79'293stang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Yea, for now I am stock injectors and maf. I picked the F cam for down the road in case a supercharger finds a home inside the engine compartment.
     
    #58
  19. screamin5oh

    screamin5oh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    centerville oh
    you upgraded the springs right?
     
    #59
  20. 79'293stang

    79'293stang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Share This Page