Does anyone here know about Labor Laws? (NJ)

BlackenedSVT

Jan 18, 2004
New Jersey
I have recently come to find out that I have a MASSIVE problem at my work and wondering if any of you on here have any experience with something like this:
------------------------------------------------------------

I have worked for a BMW dealership in northern NJ for nearly 3 years now (this july will be 3 years). I have been a technician working in service for the 1st 2 years, and recently switched to the Parts Deparment doing sales and distribution for the dealership over the counter. When I switched to Parts my pay was salary (what I was making as a technician) for the 1st 6 months about. After that period (starting in february of 2009 this year), my boss put me on a lower salary but with a commision bonus. I signed my contract with this new commission to be 0.6% of our total sales for the month. That as in February, and we get 1 commission check every month. So March was my 1st commission check, then april, may and now june. About 5 Days ago my boss came to me and asked what my commision was for april and come to find out he tells me that "they" (i guess payroll) has been paying me 1.3% commission instead of 0.6% and tells me that I now OWE the company $6,800. Now he only thought this happened for 1 month...I then told him ummm no this has been what i've been getting since he put me on comission months ago now. So instead of getting my comission check a few days ago, they TOOK $1,000 of my $1,707 commission check right out of my bank and left me with the $707, as part of their new "payment plan" they put me on. They tell me that they will now be taking $1,000 a month out of my future commission for the next 5 to 6 months until this $6,800 "debt" is paid off.

1) I want to find out if its legal for them to skim/garnish wages like this.