Drag radials VS. d.o.t approved slicks

I'm looking to get some nice sticky tires as soon as i can get my torque boxes welded up and the reinforcements in. 31 spline axles and carrier is in the near future as well as welding the axle tubes.

I mainly drive my car on the weekends (1-200 miles or so each nice weekend) and only see the track a few times a year for now. I want a tire that'll hook awesome on the street and hold a 100-150 shot outta the hole for the very occasional ls1 light to light action.

Now i have no experience with slicks but i have heard that they don't hook on the street as well as say ET Street radials.

Any thoughts or suggestions?
:SNSign:

• Sponsors (?)

I think right now the top dog for street/strip is probably the Mickey Thompson drag radial, but the life of the tire is suuuuper short. For my money i'd go with BFG DR's over ET Streets, because as you said, Streets don't hook for crap on the street and if you get caught in the rain, you're history.

Yeah...even though ET Streets are legal, chances are damn good that you'll get a ticket anyways for insufficient tread unless your groove in the ET's is deep enough....which basically means that after a few passes/burnouts, you're no longer legal.

Reactions: 1 user
85_SS_302_Coupe said:
Yeah...even though ET Streets are legal, chances are damn good that you'll get a ticket anyways for insufficient tread unless your groove in the ET's is deep enough....which basically means that after a few passes/burnouts, you're no longer legal.

Yea you can fight it, but it's really not worth the hassel. I would probably get some drag radials for the street for better stability anyways. Slicks can get a little hairy around turns..

85_SS_302_Coupe said: