Help me tune my edelbrock carb (I lack the vocabulary)

DissFigured

Apr 26, 2005
Dallas, TX
I downloaded the manuel, and have read a lot online, and I have learned that i seriously lack the vocabulary to do a lot of this. I am smart enough to look at most things and rebuild/fix etc, but the carb is not intuitive. I am a software engineer and I have the same problem w/ my wotrk. I can program circles around most folks, but I have no idea why you should never dereference a NULL pointer in C++. :)

Kidding aside:
I have the 4 barrel edelbrock performer. 289

Currently, I have idle set high because it was dying on me. However I think it is too rich because I am getting a lot of liquid (Gas?) coming out of my tailpipes. This is a total guess based on my expierence w/ model airplanes.

I can't figure out what all I need to do to start tuning this thing from scratch. I know 2 screws on front seem to be key. I close em off and I can make it die but not sure which is which and where to start and what to listen for. Also, I appear to have an electric choke. I have know idea what it does and turning it seems to have no effect. What is it's purpose?

so, any tips on any of this as if you were explaining it to your mom would be great.

• Sponsors (?)

Get a vacuum or rpm gauge.

The liquid is water, a natural by product of combustion.

Until then, with the engine off turn the screws at the bottom (Idle air screws) all the way in. Then back them both out 1 1/2 turns.

Start the car up, let it warm up.

If it still runs like cacaa, then you have problems elsewhere...

Like, choke adjustment, timing chain slack, vacuum leak, etc.

Anyway, do this and post back.

I bumped all of the posts I could find using the search for my previous posts. The most in depth carter/edelbrock carb tunning guide is a dead link now, which sucks cuz it was a good thread.