Installing the Harmonic Balancer!! How do i do it?

Kdubslugga

Jun 7, 2003
Akron, OH
How do you reinstall the Harmonic Balancer? I took it off to replace the Timing Chain Cover. I thought you would just slide it back on, do i need the puller kit to put it on, i really am clueless about this stuff, but gimme a break, im just starting out. Try and explain it a simple as possible, thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

Well basically line the keyway up with the notch in the balancer.. tap it gently with a hammer to get it started on the crank.. then thread the bolt in by hand, then begin tightening it with the socket and rachet until it can't go any more and you'll be set..

take some grease and lube that bad boy up, the crankshaft that is. Make sure the keyed part is align with the damper and gently tap on the damper (I used my hand) should slide on enough for you to get the crank shaft bolt and spacer on. Tighten the crankshaft bolt and it should press the damper on past the timing cover seal (oh by the way hope you replaced the seal on the timing cover with a new one if your timing cover wasn't new). Tighten until the engine turns than loosen the bolt to install the pulley and than you can reinstall the bolt and torque it to specs.

HO93LX302 said:
Well basically line the keyway up with the notch in the balancer.. tap it gently with a hammer to get it started on the crank.. then thread the bolt in by hand, then begin tightening it with the socket and rachet until it can't go any more and you'll be set..

damn ho beat me to it

ECU5.0 said:
it helps a lot if you have an impact wrench. make sure you dont turn the motor over while you are trying to tighten the bolt

Never use a impact gun to put on the new balancer, you really take a huge risk of pulling the threads out....