Newbie with a few ???

I was wondering what the differences are between the lighting and cobra engines. I was looking at the 1/4 slips and the weights of the two and it seems almost like the cobra engine and the lighting would be pretty much the same engine with just a few tweaks for the cobra.

If I am way off love to know, just trying to learn more about big hitters our there.

• Sponsors (?)

Cobra: 4.6 DOHC aluminum block.

Lightning: 5.4 SOHC iron block (I believe, not sure). Also, all Lightning blocks have forged internals, where as the Cobra's didn't get forged until 03.

I'm no expert on the Lightnings, but I know a lot about the Cobra's. :nice:

99SVTAddict said:

Lightning: 5.4 SOHC iron block (I believe, not sure). Also, all Lightning blocks have forged internals, where as the Cobra's didn't get forged until 03.

ahh ok so there is a big difference in them thanks. I can't belive they waited till 03' to go forged. That explains why people are able to make so much more pwr with them without worry more than the other cobra guys.

I have seen more and more places poping up with turbo kit's for both older and spcialy new cobras. Are turbos becoming more popular with cobra guys or is it just that the companies are trying to make turbos a bigger seller. I love the sound of a supercharger but I love the extra pwr and ease that turbos seems to have.

Turbo's have always been a popular choice....but expensive.
Supercharging is a quick, easy way for a modest price to make good power. It's when you push the envelope that the pre 99 Cobra's pistons just can't take the extra power. I put down 514RWHP for 6 months, then detuned to 487RWHP for about 8 months. Problems were already happening and track day sent the motor south. New forged block is done and the car should be ready this Friday. New tune and mods should be good for 570RWHP.....but "cheap" went out the window long ago. :D

LOL