Nitrous experts, I have questions/need help.

Fett

Nov 2, 2004
Ok, I might or might not be having a problem...

I hooked up a 75 dry shot before my last track visit, got some runs in with the bottle off, then turned it on and didn't feel anything different. I wasn't expecting to feel like an 11 second car, but I figured it would pull slightly harder. Everything seemed to happen faster in my head, but the times do not reflect that. My times were actually a tad slower, but I think that was due to my mind and body not being in sync....because I was not sure what to expect. Plus I used my tweecer to put my timing back down to 10*, where as my earlier runs I was running 17*. I was running 26" slicks and was NOT spinning.

Well today I started playing with it to see what was happening. I unhooked the line going to my intake and with KOEO I held down the gas to trigger the nitrous solenoid (throttle body switch at WOT). The entire time I had the pedal down, it sprayed. So I purged the line and took it out to our test road, with my Nitto drag radials.

I shifted into 2nd, and held 3/4 throttle until 2500rpms, then stomped on it. I could hear the solenoid kick on and the car took off like a bat out of hell....until about 3200rpms, then it kept accelerating normal. It might have been slightly harder than normal....but it wasn't pulling the same from 3200-5500 as it did from 2500-3200. I did this same test in third with the same result. Then I decided to feather the throttle, hammer the gas and as soon as that initial kick was over, I let off and quickly hammered it again. It seemed to pull hard for a few RPMs on each initial WOT, but then it would quickly die off again.

It almost seems like it only sprays for that first few milliseconds then cuts off, so each time I nail it WOT it would spray, then it would stop. But like I said, I tested it with the car off and the line disconnected from the intake just to see if it continuously sprayed with the pedal down, and it did.