SN95 Of Course Another Question...

95Stangpa

Apr 4, 2017
Pa.
My power steering pump is whining on my 1995 3.8, and the fluid in it is filthy. Im just trying to get everything right before putting it on the road.
I have to take a closer look, it looks like the bolts are hidden behind the pulley thats pressed on??? ....but I did not look close at it yet.

I don't know what caused the fluid to get that dirty and dark looking. Does that mean I also need to change the Rack?
I don't know if that had anything to do with it.
My steering wheel has a little bit of play but not very much. My front end parts are all tight.
I see the lines going down to the rack are bent slightly which would seem like it's restricting flow.
So I don't know how hard it is to get all new lines not just the ones on the power steering pump.
Any advice is greatly appreciated as usual. I'm still learning this mustang it's my first one. Although I do keep sneaking it out for a drive. LOL

• Sponsors (?)

Can you get pics of the suspect ps lines?
If you don't need to change the lines maybe flush the ps system. Buy a couple quarts of ps fluid then remove the return line from the pump, extend it down to a catch pan and start the car, let the fluid go into the catch pan while continuing to add new fluid to the ps pump untill it looks clean, hook up the return line and top off the pump.

If you don't need to change the lines maybe flush the ps system. Buy a couple quarts of ps fluid then remove the return line from the pump, extend it down to a catch pan and start the car, let the fluid go into the catch pan while continuing to add new fluid to the ps pump untill it looks clean, hook up the return line and top off the pump.
Hmmmmmm,...does this look like a "tech" related question or a "talk" related question to you mod dude?

Do you want me to do this stuff for you?

Cause I can....

Reactions: 1 user