Fox Picking An Engine

rbreith

Oct 15, 2013
Im finishing up my interior soon and want to start on some power next. I currently have the stock 5.0 in my 89GT and wanting some opinions on whether to build the 5.0 or get a 351w for it. its going to be a street strip car and would like to put down 450+ to the wheels without power adders. I would also be redoing the entire engine either way. I want the engine to last and not have to redo it in the future or break it. Im not an engine expert so will be using a manual to help me. i do want a roller cam have read up a bit on them and they seem to make the most power. thanks for your help

• Sponsors (?)

450 rwhp out of a n/a 302 based motor is almost 550 crank HP, not an easy task n/a. You will definately need a boss or dart block for a 302 and some major heads to get there. For example, my 85 had a 347 that was in that rwhp neighborhood - r302 block, 11.5 to 1 J&E pistons ,Eagle crank forged , .675 solid roller lifer cam, TFS high ports, victor jr intake , intake and heads ported, BG Cold Claw, hooker 1 3/4 long tubes, and X pipe. Had about $10k in the motor. Best time was 10.26 @ 127 mph It was not something I drove on the street regularly.

I think you would have a much easier time hitting your goal with a 351 stroked to 408. It will me much more streetable and less money to build.

Stroked 351 would be cheaper and more streetable than a 302 at those power levels. $4K budget is probably going to require some astute buying of some used parts to get there. New heads alone in that power range are $1500 to $2K.

If you want a 351, get one out of a 95-96 F150/Broncos. Those are factory roller. Also, Ford continued to use that body style on their 3/4 tons in 97 so I'm pretty sure you could still get a 351 in a 97 F250. So that may help in finding one