Thermostat vs temp help???

Bottomlesspit

I started the longest tech thread in the known uni
Founding Member
Jan 1, 1999
Del Rio, TX
Hey guys,
Last month i installed a new 195* thermostat when I installed my Autometer mechanical water temp guage. I filled the radiato with Prestone Ready mix anti freeze.
I have never used the pre mixed stuff before. The car has a stock radiator in it with stock clutch fan and shroud.
This is the same setup I had on my built 93GT and it worked great.
Last month after installing it the temps always read a max of 195 even when temps got near 100. A lot of the time the temp would read around 190.
Now that the temps have dropped the water temps are even lower. Tonight while driving home the outside temps were in the mid 50s. The temp guage maxed out at 180*, even after driving for 30 minutes.
This all seems way too cold. I also noticed the heater, put on full hot, really only blew nice warm air. I drove home and in the 30 minutes I had the temp on full hot and the blower set on the 3rd position...never got but warm inside. If I had done the same in my 93 i would have looked like a piece of burnt toast by that time!
Is the pre mix stuff any part of the problem? Maybe my 195 thermostat not really a 195? My car's ancient cooling system a superior system Ford snuck into my car during the build?!!! Maybe my readings are norma?
Looking for some insight into this issue before I start pulling parts again. I have enough issues already that I'm working on, so I really don't want to have to start pulling parts again.
BTW, the mechanical sender is mounted in the water neck, just inside of the thermostat, so the temp readings are pretty accurate.
Thanks for any help or ideas.
Ken

• Sponsors (?)