Thinking of buying an 04 GT as a daily driver...tell me how you like yours..

fordman54935

Jan 10, 2003
Wisconsin
Hey guys & gals, I'm Jeff and i'm new to the 4.6 forums. I'm considering purchasing an 04 5-speed GT as a daily driver, but I was looking for some feedback from those who already have one:D I've driven a couple and they seem like a very nice driving car and more refined (much more) than the Fox body mustangs. I'm curious as to what kind of mileage they get, on the highway in particular, as I commute about 60 miles a day. Has anyone had trouble with theirs? From other threads i've read on here, they seem to hold up pretty well over time. Any input is great - thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

I love it. I drive mine every day and could not be happier. It is the most fun I have ever had driving... you will learn what the best onramps to the freeway are in no time at all!!!

On the highway with a K&N and cat back exhaust I got 25.5 mpg at about 85MPH! :nice:

Around town with mixed highway and streets I am averaging about 17 - 20.

My first tank of gass was about 10mpg...:jaw:

Get it and don't look back

Matt

I commute 5 days a week in mine, average about 22 to 24 mpg on a flat stretch of Interstate. The commute is about 25 miles one way and I average about 80mph.

As for reliability for a driver, I think the 4.6 liter 2v is quite solid. There are fleet vehicles (taxi cabs, police cruisers, etc.) running the same engine that rack up over 200,000 miles sometimes.

Start adding boost to this little powerplant, and you may have to do some work down the road.

All in all, it's a solid driver, with some eccentricities: IAC is commonly faulty, some complain about a "clunk" in the TR3650 transmission, and general suspension & interior concerns.