thoughts on this retro roller cam

woodsnake

15 Year Member
Jan 16, 2007
Hicksville, NY
Well, I am about to get some extra payola in the check, and now is the time to pretty much rebuild my whole 69 Cougar. I'm looking at this roller cam:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/27070416162...21&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK:MEWAX:IT&vxp=mtr
And this bottom end kit:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/150622897710?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649
My decision is made. I have been agonizing over this for the last three years. The only remainin concerns I have, are if my T5 will hold up, and for how long, and if KB Pistons has something for a trick flow head...
Is anyone using this cam? Experinces, actual performance, anything about the combo? The car already has 670 Holley, air gap intake, full MSD ignition, headers, and 3.89 gears.

• Sponsors (?)

Good cam choice. trick flow offers porting for those heads. you might want to upgrade the valve springs, and the 3.89 gears might be too much with the amount of torque you'll be making.

should be a decent running street motor. the bottom end stroker kit looks to be a bit low quality, but top end looks good ! upgrade the mains & rod bolts with good hardware ( ARP) and i think it will be just fine for street use. have fun !

The cam kit comes with springs, I will sell the springs off the TF heads as new. I'm planning on studs for the heads, and upgraded hardware for the bottom end. KB does NOT make a piston for this application, I have an email request in to Diamond pistons, to see what they can do. If it's not an off the shelf item, maybe they can cut out a set for me.

The cam kit comes with springs, I will sell the springs off the TF heads as new. I'm planning on studs for the heads, and upgraded hardware for the bottom end. KB does NOT make a piston for this application, I have an email request in to Diamond pistons, to see what they can do. If it's not an off the shelf item, maybe they can cut out a set for me.

Hi Mate,