vortech supercharger

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by marks89, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. marks89

    marks89 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    oklahoma panhandle.
    Hey guys i have a few questions. I bought a used supercharger and am installing. First i did search on history in Tuning section. My questions are , i have a boost control and seen where some one said to set timing at 10 deg. With boost control do i still set at 10 or leave at 12? have 42 injectors and adj fuel pressure regulator, so leave fmu off and set fuel pressure at 40? I also have 255gph fuel pump i take it i dont need to put boost pump on is that correct? Lastly no tuners close will have to drive 4 to 7 hours to have tuned, dont want to take to tuner til i put my dart block 347 in and a intercooler on. Im putting wide band af gauge in can i get tuned close with it on stock boost from vortec by adjusting fuel pressure?
    any imput greatly appreciated thanks mark
     
    #1
  2. Bill Gordon

    Bill Gordon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Broomfield, CO
    Yes, with 42# injectors do not use the FMU, also shouldn't need the boost pump. Most tuners recommend setting timing back to 10. Let the dyno tuners make the changes...
    BTW...what brand of 42# injectors do you have?
     
    #2
  3. marks89

    marks89 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    oklahoma panhandle.
    to be honest with you not sure, bought car like it was. was told it was built for turbo and it did have A/n fitting for oil return.
     
    #3
  4. marks89

    marks89 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    oklahoma panhandle.
    have another proublem. car wouldn't start with boost control hooked up. I am running a 6al box, and hooking boost control in between 6al and coil. Is that correct?
     
    #4
  5. marks89

    marks89 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    oklahoma panhandle.
    found info on msd sight im good to go! thanks
     
    #5
  6. Bill Gordon

    Bill Gordon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Broomfield, CO
    What did you find wrong?
     
    #6
  7. DuDNoTcH

    DuDNoTcH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Showcase:
    2
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    9
    go blow thru.
     
    #7
  8. 84Ttop

    84Ttop They make new pistons every day, so why worry?
    SN Certified Technician Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,435
    Showcase:
    37
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    South Jersey
    go blow thru. ??? you bump your head?
     
    #8
  9. marks89

    marks89 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    oklahoma panhandle.
    found the instructions for boost controller to 6al box. Test drove today set boost controller a little under 1. car run great! Now hopefully block holds out for year or so.
     
    #9
    Bill Gordon likes this.
  10. 84Ttop

    84Ttop They make new pistons every day, so why worry?
    SN Certified Technician Mod Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,435
    Showcase:
    37
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Have you checked the plugs? Just a suggestion, but put a fresh set of plugs in the car make a pass with it and shut it right off afterwards. When you pull the plugs you will be able to "read" them to see that your timing is correct. Let me know if you need help doing this. Imo the only way to make sure that the timing you are running is correct for your setup and that you aren't detonating the motor.
     
    #10
  11. marks89

    marks89 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    oklahoma panhandle.
    did it the way vortec said put a load on it in 3rd gear and listened for ping. But next nice day will do a read on the plugs, thanks for the advice.
     
    #11

Share This Page