Which heads Trick flows or AFR's

Danny's 94Cobra

Oct 20, 2004
I got a new 306 shortblock with Dss forged low compression pistons this week at the fun ford weekend event. I am going to get a new set of heads this week should I get the Trick Flow Twisted Wedge or the AFR's? I also ordered a trickflow stage one came since the pistons are set for Trick Flow heads and thought I'd keep everthing matched. But I have had several people tell me the afr's are better heads and worth the extra money. Would like to get more input. Also does the tf stage 1 cam sound good or is there a better one? I am running a vortech s-trim with 12 pounds?

• Sponsors (?)

You answered your own question, If it's already set up for trick flow, then go with trick flow. The numbers arent that different from trick flow to AFR's. Stage 1 cam I have no experience with, I do like comp cams for off the shelf cams; but still no substitute for a custom grind.

alot of people like the trickflow heads because they have more meat to work with (port etc) but others like the afr heads cuz they are already cnc'd. it's a matter of prefrence really, if you plan on throwing down a bunch of extra money later on to get the heads ported and polished go with the TF's if not go with the afr's.

Thanks for the input

Thanks for the input It is just a matter of letting the company know which ones to send. I was also more inclined to the TFS to keep everything matched trying to duplicate there head and cam package. The stage 1 cam is similiar to the e303 so I think it should work ok. Anyways if it does not preform good I can always order a custom grind. I just hope it does better than my 430hp to the wheels with everything stock.

It All Depends On What You Want Out Of The Motor. I Have A Set Of Trickflow W 2.02 Valves And I Love Them. But Im Also Running A High Compression Piston 10:8:1 Probe Piston. Dont Get Me Wrong Tho Afr's Are Good Heads To. My Dad Has A Set That Are 185cc And He Kills Me Down The Track