Wiring Issues - New swap, Need Help

Discussion in '2.3L (N/A & Turbo) Tech' started by SILENTCARL, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. SILENTCARL

    SILENTCARL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been trying to do this swap for the last three months. I had the new motor in the car in a day, but the rest of the time, has been a wiring nightmare.

    We bought a break-out box for the EEC IV.

    This is a '91 dis car with a swap to a distributer Merkur motor. LA3 , Large Vam.

    Problems include no fuel pump, no injectors firing, electric fan comes on immediately when the IRCM is energized from ignition on.

    I put a new IRCM in.

    Please help! Any ideas will be very appreciated.

    -Carl
     
    #1
  2. sleeper_inc

    sleeper_inc New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Regina Beach Sask. Canada
    Did you make sure wired it right
     
    #2
  3. SILENTCARL

    SILENTCARL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess I deserved that...

    I did search, and I did follow Stinger's directions to the tee. Then re-re-re-re-re-re-checked all of the pin-outs. Then I went and got all of the wiring diagrams for both the LA3 equipped TC, and my '91 LX. And went through that and double checked.

    I wish I understood why it was doing this. I was just looking for any ideas you guys may have before I rip out the entire wiring harness and replace it with one out of a older dizzy car.


    Stinger Intercooler piping with my Volvo front-mount and Ranger Radiator:
    [​IMG]
     
    #3
  4. sleeper_inc

    sleeper_inc New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Regina Beach Sask. Canada
    If thats how the engine is right now you know your battery's not connected right?
     
    #4
  5. SILENTCARL

    SILENTCARL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HA.:lol:

    Fan wouldn't work with batt. unhooked would it? Thanks...

    Please be gentle. lol
     
    #5
  6. Stinger

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    7,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Location:
    Wilson, KS
    I would say you have some stray red/green striped wires in the harness that need to be soldered together. They are the signal return wires that go to all the sensors. When plugs are eliminated, the red/green wires are left open. Since they all run together in the stock harness, not doing so in the new "swap" harness will keep the injectors/sensors, etc. from being grounded.
     
    #6
  7. SILENTCARL

    SILENTCARL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will check for that Stinger. I'm pretty certain all of the red w/ green wires are interconnected. After I check, I will update. Thanks.
     
    #7
  8. Dr_EluSivE

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    check all the sensors for ground, Specifically pin 46 on the computer. If the Signal return wire is floating, the car wont run right.

    Dr.
     
    #8
  9. SILENTCARL

    SILENTCARL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm pulling the harness. Swapping to the dizzy harness.
     
    #9
  10. SILENTCARL

    SILENTCARL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it running. It sure is fun reading off of 3 wiring diagrams at once...

    '86 svo harness converted to LA3 and placed in a '91 2.3 dis car.

    It idles very rough. Almost like a super crazy cam in a v-8. It shakes the whole car. Don't understand that... Any things i should check on that? Any suggestions?

    What do you guys think for timing, and base fuel pressure? Where should I be?
     
    #10
  11. SILENTCARL

    SILENTCARL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was a simple problem that I am a little too embarrassed to tell you guys about. lol.

    But, It runs fine. We have been finishing up all of the final wiring, but I drove it for the first time last night. I love that damn car. My truck is so boring...

    Still, I set base timing at 10* and fuel pressure at 38 psi at idle. What should I be at?
     
    #11

Share This Page