3.73 Gears - Should I and why??

screaminyellin6

Aug 29, 2005
I am looking at getting gears installed on my 05 V'6er and my local speed mechanic said that 3.73 with the SCT2 is a dramatic difference. What do you think? They're charging $379 for the Xcal2 with 3 generic tunes. Dyno tuning would be necessary for the gears , of course.

What will I be gaining and what will I be trading off (or loosing) by going with 3.73?? Also does the gears void my warranty?

BTW he said gears with P&L are about $425 (not including dyno)

Whats your opinion?? I am looking at getting some work done this weekend - if anything atleast the Xcal2.... Get rid of that throttle lag once and for all!!! lol

• Sponsors (?)

screaminyellin6 said:
I am looking at getting gears installed on my 05 V'6er and my local speed mechanic said that 3.73 with the SCT2 is a dramatic difference.
What will I be gaining and what will I be trading off (or loosing) by going with 3.73?? Whats your opinion??

I'm no expert but here are my personal considerations,

if you like low-end, off-the-line power then the 3.73 gears are a good option

if you are running up and down the hi-ways at 75/80MPH+ , or are concerned about really getting good gas mileage, then dont!

Also does the gears void my warranty?

I dont think so ~

Get rid of that throttle lag once and for all!!!

Always a good idea :nice:

screaminyellin6 said:
I am looking at getting gears installed on my 05 V'6er and my local speed mechanic said that 3.73 with the SCT2 is a dramatic difference. What do you think? They're charging $379 for the Xcal2 with 3 generic tunes. Dyno tuning would be necessary for the gears , of course.

What will I be gaining and what will I be trading off (or loosing) by going with 3.73?? Also does the gears void my warranty?

BTW he said gears with P&L are about $425 (not including dyno)