4 BANGER T-5????

CobraDuce

Dec 27, 2003
RedNeck, Pa
I was wondering... I have a 351w that I built and I want to put a t-5 on to it. I figured I'd have to rebuild the t-5 with race gears any how and i have a t-5 from a 4 banger 83 that my brother wrecked I was wonderingif this could make due as the trany to be rebuilt. If so what would i need to make it bolt up to the 351.

Thanks

Rob D.

Ps. Im a 16 yea rold apprentice technition so if one person mentions a 1500 dolor tremic trany i may kill my self j/k

• Sponsors (?)

id like to know about this to. i also have a 4-banger t-5 and was wondering if id be able to send it away to g-force to have them do their thing to it. but i need to make sure i can use it. im thinking its probly gonna be no because ive heard something about spline count on the input or the diameter of it.

You can use it, you just need a different pilot bearing, i've also seen people beat the crap out of them, with the intentions on it breaking, so they could put there real trans back in, after rebuilt. And the 4 banger trans never gave out. I think the pilot bearing is only like 20 bucks.

I believe the 4 cyl trans also has a longer first gear, which is ideal for 3.73 and 4.10 cars that just burn the tires up in first.

I don't think you even need a new bellhousing, i'm not totally sure though. I'm pretty sure all you need is the pilot bearing, because of a small difference in the input shaft.

If no one replies here, look through ebay ads for a t-5 transmissions (use different terms to find out the best search), most of the ads for 4 banger tranny's explain what you need.

you said Ps. Im a 16 yea rold apprentice technition so if one person mentions a 1500 dolor tremic trany i may kill my self j/k but i looked at the g-force and for the good one that will handle the power of a 351w it would cost more than the tremic trans just my 2 cents