been to track TWICE!! cobra cant get into 13's, HELP!

yz250

Jun 8, 2003
help guys! ive been to the track twice now and i just guess im a crappy driver. ok my runs are like 14.4, 14.2. however, my trap mph range from 100 to 102, so i know the power is there i just cant get a decent time. BUT my buddy jumped in it and gave it a run of 13.9 at 101! :bang: i bogged twice too, im thinking its the start thats killin me.

my car:

01 cobra convertible, c&l 80mm mass air, php intake spacer, o/r h pipe, flowmaster 2 chambers.

what is this car capable of and what am i doing wrong?

i'll get the actual slip posted on here tomorrow to give you guys a better look at what i might be doing wrong.

thanks guys,
jordan :nonono:

• Sponsors (?)

I have 99 cobra convert, my best run stock was 13.7@ 105. If your running street tires drop air pressure to about 18 lbs, and stay out of the water, just a light burn off to warm them up. Launch just above idle, because the wheel hop of the 99-01 irs is a killer. Get your 60 ft times under control and your car will do better :flag:

yz250 said:
help guys! ive been to the track twice now and i just guess im a crappy driver. ok my runs are like 14.4, 14.2. however, my trap mph range from 100 to 102, so i know the power is there i just cant get a decent time. BUT my buddy jumped in it and gave it a run of 13.9 at 101!

Here are some things you can do to squeeze out a few more tenths:

- Drop weight. We have a ~200 lb disadvantage compared to coupes. Remove everything from the trunk, including the spare tire. You can also save about 30 lbs by taking out your back seat.
- Work on your launches. IRS is tricky. My two best 60' times (which admittedly still suck) came from slipping the clutch at 3k and by just dropping the clutch at 2k. Alternatively, get some sticky tires and drop the clutch at 5k. :)