Hi, My first Ford

kicker0

Nov 4, 2006
Vero Beach, FL
Hi guys, I'm new to the ford world as I just bought my first Mustang. Its a 93 LX Hatch w/ 5.0 and 5 speed trans. I just got it titled and registered today so I havent had much time to drive it. Its got 110K on it but the body and interior are in pretty good shape. I've already read some threads on this forum and it looks like a great resource for information. I plan to fix some small things at first on my Fox and then gradually move to the engine and transmission (possible 351 swap :D ) While I'm a fairly new gearhead, I want to try and do as much work myself as possible to save money. That said what are some good General Repair manuals for 89-93 Mustangs? Are Haynes and Chiltons manuals the way to go or are there others? Thanks in advanced!

• Sponsors (?)

Welcome to Stangnet... :spot:

Not all of us know how to fix everything, but some of us know how to fix some things with excellence!

If you want to do the fix up & power up thing, make sure that you have some other form of reliable daily driver. That way the stang can sit while your wallet and hands take a rest from the last project that didn't quite get finished on that 3 day weekend. Things always cost more and take longer the first time you do them. Having some other working vehicle makes life easier since it isn't the big crush to get it running for the Monday morning drive to work or class.

Plan on spending some money on tools it you don't already have them. The stang has both metric and american fasteners, so you really need two sets of wrenches. A timing light, digital voltmeter, vacuum gauge, compression tester, fuel pressure test gauge and fuel line coupler tools are some of the test & tuning tools you'll need. Visit the pawn shops and sometimes you can find a deal on tools & test equipment if you stick to well known name brands.