How many of you have used a Taurus Rack?

chepsk8

Founding Member
Jan 15, 2001
Easton, PA
Since there has been a few recent threads on steering again, I'm curious on how many have used the Taurus rack. Mine has been in my car for over five years now, mostly trouble free, but has had to be "tweaked" along the way. For those who have, what have your experiences been? How did you connect to the column? Curious to compare.... :shrug:

• Sponsors (?)

im defintally gonna do it and as far as fab work its no big deal thats what i do for a living just got to find the time and money at the same time but im sure everybody knows that feeling :)
oh and my buddy at the junk yard is supposed to find me a rack this week i read somewhere that its only 86-88 models that work is this true or will the 86-91 work? thanks

Taurus.

It's fun, I have some pics of mine if you want.

Couple of tips from my experience:
1. Mount as high as possible
2. You WILL have bump steer due to the width of the rack. Use the Baer Kit on the outer ends.
3. Your turning circle WILL increase ALOT, unless you use one of the bump-steer kits that also moves the OTR mounting point in.

BUT..........

Dang, does it steer nice on the highway! :lol:

67efivert said:
im defintally gonna do it and as far as fab work its no big deal thats what i do for a living just got to find the time and money at the same time but im sure everybody knows that feeling :)
oh and my buddy at the junk yard is supposed to find me a rack this week i read somewhere that its only 86-88 models that work is this true or will the 86-91 work? thanks

It's funny. I have a Taurus & I'm not crazy about the rack!

I think I have had mine actually in the car for a little over 3 years now and I have had ZERO problems with it since initial install and tweaking ;).

The worst part about it is the increase in turning radius, but that is easily overlooked once you take it through some aggressive twisties :nice:, it rocks!