Im installing new Autometer Guages, I need help please!

Kdubslugga

Jun 7, 2003
Akron, OH
When i installed my BBK White face guages, i had to take the needles off, and there not even close to being accurate now. I put them back where they were but not even close to bein right. Anyways. I have the dual A pillar thing, and im going to be putting a Water Temp Guage and an Oil Press. Guage. My questions are, is this a hard job, im a newbie to all this stuff, so ive never done guages before, what can i expect in the difficulty category? Also what becomes of my factory guages, will i need to disconnect those? By the way these are 2 1/16 Autometer Pro-Comp Ultra Lite, Electrical Guages. Please make my day and tell me this is not a hard job!

• Sponsors (?)

It shouldn't be too hard at all actually. The only thing is though, I don't really have any experience with running wires to the A-pillar, but the wiring of the guages is easy. Just find power somewhere when the key turns on, find a ground, and wire to the sender they provide. To have both the stock guages and the aftermarket gauges working, you will need to modify a bit.

For the oil pressure, I just got a t-fitting and put both senders in the stock senders location. There is enough pressure in the oil to get two accurate readings. For the water temp, I put the autometer sender in the stock location, and then moved the stock sender to the location in the back of the intake.

Sound good? If you have anymore questions, feel free to ask.

Just got thru running the same gauges but mechanical.
1. take speaker and grill out of dash
2. pop light switch toggles out and splice into hot wire going to the fog lights
3.run a single hot from there and splice into your gauge leads. run a single length ground cable down to the framing for the pedals, put an eyelet on then find or driilll a hole for the bolt for thr ground.