Looking for a DD 4 door

saleen556

Dec 2, 2003
Hillsboro,OR
What are some good reliable 4 door cars for a DD that get 30+ mpg? With gas prices getting so high the wife finally wants a 3rd car.I have mine and an 03 durango which both love gas.We are looking for something 4-6 years old with low mileage.The wife likes the jetta but I am open to suggetions. OOPS can someone move this to the talk forum??

• Sponsors (?)

moved to talk...

I would get a focus if your just looking for a small car thats good on gas. I work on fords for a living and I will tell you the focus gets a bad rep for the stupid recalls in the early cars but they are nice little cars and are relaible. In fact I will be picking one up soon for a new DD..

My advise is don't by imports, you pay for the name and predicted relabilty and in my years as a mechanic and working at a volkswagon/honda dealer then a toyota store and now for the last 6 years ford, I am confident to say that the realiability is so close that it's not worth the 3-4 grand extra you pay for a used honda over a used ford.

svttech76 said:
moved to talk...

I would get a focus if your just looking for a small car thats good on gas. I work on fords for a living and I will tell you the focus gets a bad rep for the stupid recalls in the early cars but they are nice little cars and are relaible. In fact I will be picking one up soon for a new DD..

My advise is don't by imports, you pay for the name and predicted relabilty and in my years as a mechanic and working at a volkswagon/honda dealer then a toyota store and now for the last 6 years ford, I am confident to say that the realiability is so close that it's not worth the 3-4 grand extra you pay for a used honda over a used ford.

The focus sucks on gas for a compact car, especially the older ones. They would routinely get low to mid 20s combined driving. That imo is pretty bad for a economy car. My Mazda6 gets 25-30 mixed driving and its a midsize.