Loose steering powersteering

• Sponsors (?)

There are actually a couple of different issues here. I'm not an expert on this but I'll take a shot and then some of the steering experts can tell us the parts I missed/messed up (watch one, do one, teach one).

First, I've been led to believe that when the engine is off the power steering is going to have some play both at the wheel and at the ball that goes into the valve. The power steering system depends on the ball shaft moving within it's seat in the valve in order to variably direct the flow of the pressurized fluid and expand or contract the ram cylinder. When the car is off the ball stud still moves and may seem to move more because if the car were running the valve and steering linkage would move with it (I don't know about this last part).

My steering wheel moves about as much as the one in the video. Previous threads here have stated that some movement is to be expected, but I'd love to see one of the expert posters chime in on whether that sort of play at the steering wheel is correct. Likewise for the ball stud.

Also, in the video there is certainly a problem with the stud that mounts the ram cylinder to the centerlink.

Second, there are likely a couple of additional parts you'll want to replace in this process. A number of people have lamented not replacing the seats/seals where the hoses connect. The issue is that the don't reseal nicely and then you have a leak. Stanger's site has some nice write ups on the system and the other steps you might want to take. You can buy rebuild kits from him or Dan a/k/a Chockostang. Dan has been more active here of late and may well chime in.