Replace Engine?

jabier14

Aug 22, 2009
I recently received a '98 mustang (3.8L V6) as a gift and I got pretty depressed when I checked out the stock hp rating for the car. Despite having a rather large engine (yes, I know it is small for a mustang but it is still big overall) it doesn't have a whole lot of power. I looked into engine mods for the car (I am relatively new to this, I am a mechanical engineer but this will be my first project on a car) but it seems that those would require a decent number of mods and tuning to be done to significantly increase the power of the engine. So my questions are as follows:

1) Is it possible to fit a larger engine (say a 5.0L or a 4.6L) into the body of a '98 mustang? I have looked under the hood and there is a bit of room, probably because some '98's also come with 4.6L. (I obviously would have someone do this for me.)

2)Would it make more sense just to modify the engine myself rather than get a new engine (if possible)? I would generally like to do some modding to make this car into a ongoing project, however it seems that it would require substantial modifying to get a decent hp increase.

• Sponsors (?)

You're right that 3.8L is a fairly large engine. The reason that this engine doesn't make all that much power (or torque) is that it's old-school pushrod technology, and not a lot of work was done on the induction by Ford. It's intended to be one of Ford's corporate engines for mid-size cars, not a performance engine.

You can pick up some HP by doing the usual stuff like a pulley and CAI. You can also make the car feel faster by switching the rear end to 3.73 gears. Any of those could be done for $500 or less.
If you are looking for power you can definitely notice, you're probably looking at either a blower or a head and cam swap (Super Six Motorsports). Either of those are going to take some handyness and a day or two to put in, but they'll net you 70-100 extra horsepower (at a cost of about $2k).