Spec Stage 2 CLutch Problem

JT87NAT

May 16, 2005
Hello, just had a quick question about the Spec Stage 2 clutch. My friend wants to purchase an 88 GT, but when we took the car for a test drive the clutch slipped in second. The seller said that he thought maybe he had adjusted the clutch wrong. Could adjustment of the clutch pedal cause the clutch to not engage fully? I have no previous experience with Mustangs mechanically so I don't know if this is or isn't the problem. To me it seems like if it is slipping then it is probably some issue with the flywheel, pressure plate, or clutch disk not just adjustment. Any way the rear main oil seal could leak and cause this, or a seal in the transmission that is allowing gear oil to get into the bellhousing? BTW, I own an 87 Supra and on Supraforums we have been having a big discussion on whether or not Spec uses an upgraded pressure plate for their kits for our cars, does anyone have significant proof that they are using upgraded pressure plates for the kits you guys buy? Thanks alot.

• Sponsors (?)

it is possible. Does it have an adjustable cable or a self adjuster? I personally would think the clutch is goin out, but if he has an adjustable cable set up, then have him (the owner) try to adjust it.......the clutch fork should have just a little bit of play in it. meaning you should be able to move the clutch for like an 1/8" to be close to proper adjustment.......if it is a self adjusting, then clutch............later man, hotwheels of insanemustangs

What mods are done to the car...the Spec Stage II can take some pretty good power...probably 400rwhp...but if the power is around there or that clutch has been on that car for a long time it probably is actually slipping...

If it is a basically stock car then it probably is adjusted right...but I'm afraid the seller might be trying to tell you a "cheap solution" so you will most likely buy it than rather saying the clutch is out...