Throttle response and other things...

Lito

Nov 12, 2006
Hi all, bare with the non-english speaking newbie here! :D

I've just got a new 07 GT, they are on sale here in Venezuela at a very nice price so I've jumped in. The car is great, I'm missing a lot of things that my old car did better but I must that this is an awesome car in stock form. Ford did got this one sooooo right. (Just a IRS would made it perfect -and pricey- and drag fans would hate it but road racers like me will love it and car will be a better street stang)

I have a question with the throttle. I know it is a drive by wire model and I'm not used to it, but is it normal that when you lift the throttle quick, the engine keeps spinning for a little while and rpm's come down veeeery slowly?

I assume that a tune would help/correct this thing so it could behave like a normal throttle or not?

I've already got broke ordering a ton of parts from Brenspeed, Kooks LTH, offroad x , Flows, CAI, CMCV and pulleys. I promise that I'll make videos of installation results, stock, LTH and X with stock mufflers and FM's.

• Sponsors (?)

Yes from what i have read it is normal for the engine to keep reving after you let off the throttle. From what i was told it is there for emission reasons to burn off extra fuel. They funny thing is i didn't notice it until after i got my tune, guess i didn't get on the car that much before. You can have it removed with a tune but you will need to request it.

Well, I kind of expected this because I've tried a couple of new cars that made it, being the latest a Renault Megane 2.0 which made it quite noticeable and it was very annoying. Combining this with emergency assisted braking makes this car very annoying to drive hard.