Worth a 351w swap

JaBobb

Dec 16, 2023
Alabama
I have a 98 v6 car I bought for the 5 speed trans to go behind my slanty in my 68 d100. Now I have a shell with a blown v6, a fresh 351 from a sold project and a borg Warner 5 speed recently acquired. How much of a pain is it to swap in the 351 into this chassis for a street car?

• Sponsors (?)

It's not hard to put a 351 in a 98. There are things you'll have to work around like the speedometer. I believe 98 is electronic. Getting the factory tach to work is a different story. No idea how. A digital dash would solve those issues. The next things are a swap pan and 351 swap headers. Easily acquired. It all depends on budget. The work isn't hard.

This is a difficult one to answer and has a lot of potential twists and turns depending on how you answer the following questions. I'm not an expert, there are probably better folks on here to answer these details than me, but I've helped two friends do the swap with their '94s. Your scenario is a bit different since it's a '98.

1) Do you already have the parts to Windsor V8 swap an SN95?
2) Do you already have the 351 specific parts to make it work?
3) Do you have a significant budget for the parts?
4) Can you fabricate what's needed?

I ask this because there are several different routes to go. Having a 351 engine is only half of the battle. The following are some hints for each scenario: