4.6 vs 5.0

• Sponsors (?)

As far as an easier swap, I would go with a 5.0. The 5.0 re-uses a lot of the same chassis parts and wiring as the V6, which will make the swap easier. Check out the Cobra clone link in my sig for my swap from a 94 V6 to a 5.0 Cobra.

A 4.6 uses a different fuel system, which means you will have to change the fuel pump and possibly the wiring to the pump. I believe you will have to change the k-member as well, and may have to re-wire the dash as well.

IMO, it's simply easier to switch to a 5.0.

i am new to the mustang world. i just got a 94 v6 5spd mustang without the motor, but the trans came with the car. what motor would you go with 4.6 or 5.0. :shrug:

You realize you're asking on a 5.0 forum, right? Not saying we're not giving good advice, just realize that most of us have a biased toward the 5.0, so you may get a different opinion if you ask it on the forum for the mod motor SN 95s.

Course, you'd be a fool to listen to those guys cuz they're all Fast&Furious, fart-pipe running wanna-bes...:D

As far as an easier swap, I would go with a 5.0. The 5.0 re-uses a lot of the same chassis parts and wiring as the V6, which will make the swap easier. Check out the Cobra clone link in my sig for my swap from a 94 V6 to a 5.0 Cobra.

A 4.6 uses a different fuel system, which means you will have to change the fuel pump and possibly the wiring to the pump. I believe you will have to change the k-member as well, and may have to re-wire the dash as well.

IMO, it's simply easier to switch to a 5.0.

Not only that but it's easier to make 400hp N/A with a 5.0. Than it is with a 4.6. A hell of alot cheaper too.

what year of 351. also what kind of car

Try and find a late model block that is already setup for roller lifters. That will save you a lot of money converting the engine to a roller setup. I know the Lightning blocks didn't come with roller lifters, but the block was already drilled and machined for them.

Kurt