Crown-vic Brake Conversion

Discussion in 'Other Auto Tech' started by Noobz347, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,782
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    caliper brackets, brake lines, proportioning valve, and probably a new master cylinder.
     
    #21
  2. barman

    barman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok cool. The master cylinder's responsible for the front too hence the "master" in master cylinder I'm assuming? If so why wouldn't i be able to use the one that's already there? Cuz of the new lines?
     
    #22
  3. Mustang5L5

    Mustang5L5 Car used in adult film "Highway Gangbang-InDaButt"
    SN Certified Technician Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    21,809
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Because master cylinders are sized for all 4 brakes, and drum brakes require MUCH less fluid to operate than disks due to smaller cylinder diameter.

    So if you change from drums to disks, you need a different MC
     
    #23
  4. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,782
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart

    Oh hell... Sorry, I didn't see your post. I've been up to my eyeballs in trying to get some server issues resolved. I see that 5L5 got ya though. :nice:
     
    #24
  5. barman

    barman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeah. Thanks guys. Still waiting for crownvic.net to "approve" my membership. Whatever that means. Need a new rear axel so i need to know how many splines the differential has before i order it, and i don't wanna take the thing apart just to count them.
     
    #25

Share This Page