Love my new job!

'69Mach1Chick

There's no grass left to cut.
Apr 1, 2002
North Jersey
So, I just started my new job on monday and i love it! My boss is real cool and it is so much fun. Most of the shops around here wouldn't hire me because I am a girl, but this guy really wants to give me a chance to learn some stuff before i go to Wyotech. I figured i was going to be sweeping floors and cleaning up around the shop, but the first day i got there i ground a mustang door and an old impala fender to the bare metal. Then i drilled holes for the molding. It was fun, lol. My hands were shaking for the rest of the day though because i have never used those machines before and i was using them from 2:30 when i got to work till 6 when I left. The second day he put me right to work too. I wetsanded a '67 fastback with shelby kit on it. I love it and can't wait to go back! Hopefully welding will be next!

• Sponsors (?)

The shop doesn't do any motor work. That was dissapointing, but I have some projects to learn on during the summer and people who are going to teach me sme more stuff. Hopefully, when school is out in 3 weeks i can quit my job at the bridal shop and work at the body shop in newton too. Well i can't wait till i go back! Lol, i had off today because my boss is up in vermont delivering a bentley.

Your lucky. I would love to work on cars and get paid for it, but I would kinda feel bad because I couldn't really call it work because to me it would just be having fun. The best job I ever had was a summer job at a machine shop. Anyway, good luck with yours.

yeah it is so great to get paid for getting an education! Lol, my mom won't let me take anything apart in our garage so this gives me a chance to tear stuff up and put it back together without someone giving me sh$$ about it.