What kind of welder do I need?

DJCarbine

May 4, 2005
I am going to be getting a welder so that I can do some of my own DIY projects. I will be welding on subframe connectors, repairing the cowl, and fabbing things as needed. What type of welder should I get? It would be for occasional use, and I need something cheap and does the job. When it comes to welding I am a complete newb, I hear things such as MIG, TIG, stick, arc, plasma, and I think about startrek and how hot that one chick was in her little uniform. I guess I have some other problems too... but can anyone suggest a type of welder I should purchase?

• Sponsors (?)

So far every time I hit the search button, the ad banner blocks it so that I cant enter any information into the search field :(

::edit

upon refreshing many many times, I am now able to perform a search:D A lot of people are asking HOW to weld certian things, what type of wire to use etc... but I sstill cant find anything about a cheap but decent welder. Yes, I know the more it costs the better, but I dont need some overkill welding machine, when all I want to do is basic repairs. It apprears I need a mig welder. Can anyone recommend a model number? I am looking at lincoln and clarke models.

Hobart, Miller or Lincoln is what I'd look at if buying new. Buying used is sort of a hodge podge deal. Hobart is owned by Miller IIRC and is considered a step down, but still a damn fine welder.

You do want a wire welder with gas. You can still run flux core through it, but gas with solid wire is so much nicer.

The problem with buying a $200 wire welder is, you'll get to where you really like welding, you'll fine yourself welding up all kinds of stuff, and you'll get pretty decent at it and you'll find the $200 welder is a piece of crap.