302 Rebuild or Crate Motor

Whassup everyone? I am a newbie to this site, I have read threw many of other posts on here about almost the same dilemma I have. I have a 91GT with only a 105k on it and I believe one of the bearings is bad since the whining sounds comes from the main pulley which sounds like a I strapped a cat to it, when it warms up the sounds goes away but I get a major power loss after 3500 RPM. I decided to stick with 302 so I don’t have to change too much on the car, plus I would like to get a SC down the road. I was looking for some input on weather I should rebuild this motor or get a GT40 crate motor I found on the web that has:

compression ratio: 9.0 to 1
crankshaft: Nodular iron, 3.000" stroke
head, chamber size: GT-40 aluminum heads, 64cc
valve sizes (i/e): 1.940" / 1.540"
camshaft: B303, hydraulic, roller
camshaft lift (i/e): 0.480" / 0.480" hydraulic
cam duration (i/e): 224 / 224 degrees @ 0.050 lift

If I do go the GT40 crate motor route what would stock parts should I change to not have problems? I am already planning on replacing intake, injectors, radiator, ignition box, and getting a chip. The only thing I have on it our some Mac shorty headers and a Edelbrock 65mm TB. Any feedback you guys may have I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you,
Jared

• Sponsors (?)

2 things to think about.....

1.) A rebuild will cost just as much as a crate motor to have a local shop do it for you once you factor in all the labor and other charges. Unless you do the majority of the work yourself you will spend the same amount of money either way.

2.) If you build it yourself, you can upsize it with the money you save. 331 or 347 stroker kits can be bought for as little as $700-$800 with hypereutectic pistons. Only $1000-$1200 with forged pistons.