Help Build a Budget 8.8

Brandon11010

Jul 18, 2005
Well im a UTI student and my 89 fox's 8.8 is a little tired.. with 2.73 gears and a no longer working trac-loc, im tired of getting pulled on by everyone and their grandma, especially with all my engine work (276hp,310tq). Now being a student im on a tight tight budget.. What would the the cheapest way to get a set of 3.73's or 3.55's, and a working posi unit? A price list and a where to get it would be nice.. would a junkyard *craigslist* set of gears be worth the work to throw in, can i get away with not getting a rebuild kit? The trac-loc rebuild kit is what $50? no gettin around that.. I dunno.. im open for suggestions..or donations lol.. any input would be appreciated :nice:

• Sponsors (?)

I got a 31 spline truck diff for $20 (I think it was), a rebuild kit for whatever that costs, axles for $200, a rear for $20, get some used gears for $100-150 and you could have a nice, reliable posi rear for around $500!

I'm guessing for a budget you wont be going 31 spline.

-gears on ebay or craigslist for 50-100 (got mine on craigs for $75)
-a rebuild kit for the trac-loc-$62 http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/FORD...015QQitemZ250360690265QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW
I would do the axles bearings and seals as well since you already have it apart. -$35 http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Ford...024QQitemZ370148800145QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

-installation kit for the gears on ebay. there are several different types that can inlcude just shimes and seals or shims, bearings etc. anywhere from $39-150

good luck. oh and I assume being at UTI they can help you on the install if not then plan to shell a few hundred for that. What I have done is found a ford tech who does installs and asked him to do a side job.

For peace of mind, I'd buy new gears. Everything else (except of course the rebuild kit and bearings) you can buy used.