Military Guys In Here

69Rcode_Mach1

Apr 20, 2004
Salt Lake City, Utah
Okay guys I know there are a lot of veterans here. I have a question. I have wanted to be a pilot all my life (and maybe one day go to space, but that is just an added + if I do, but don't know if it would happen), my grades were great, vision is beyond perfect and am in good physical shape. Now I came very close to signing up for the Air Force when I graduated high school. Unfortunately my parents flipped out and my father went ape on me considering such a decision. (Worried that I will die) After all this I was going to go but changed my mind because I was too worried that I would sign the paper for the wrong reason, (to piss off my father)and have regrets. Now I keep coming back to this again, so this is making me think I know it is what makes me happy and what I would like to do. I would love to do this as a job, want to help people, and do something meaningful not to mention fun. That is why I am wanting to become a fighter pilot preferably on the F-22 raptors. I would like to know what is entailed, what to expect from it, the lifestyle, and if it is okay to be thinking like this?

• Sponsors (?)

FallujahMedic said:
If you want to fly, you need to go to college. Get a 4 year degree, then apply to the service of your choice.

Right! Getting the 4 year degree is a must! If you want to fly DO NOT listen to a recruiter tell you to go in as enlisted then change over later (they tend to stretch the truth). Then as noted above go to the different services and see which one will sign you up in a pilot program.