MSD Distributor Install Problems

Just to start off, My mechanical skills are in my opinion average. I've done some major installs (superchargers, engine swaps and rebuilds, rear end swaps, tranny swaps, etc...) but have not done everything there is to do yet. Well, I tried installing my MSD Pro Billet Distributor a few days ago and ran into a little problem. I was rushing it and pulled all the existing stuff off before really reading the instructions. Big mistake considering I've never done it before. Well, when I go to put the new distributor in, it does not slide in all the way. I am literally about a 1/2" or so for the new dizzy to completely engage, but it does not go all the way down. I have tried a few tricks, like bump starting the engine over to see if the gears would catch but that did not work.
Here are some pics of my current situation:
IMG_2172_SMALL.JPG

I've been able to get it a bit further in, but not much more than this
IMG_2171_SMALL.JPG
Here is a pic of where I am trying to slide it into. Every thing look ok to you guys?
IMG_2175_SMALL.JPG

Some extra info. I bought the dizzy from a guy with a 289 that was upgrading to a 351 (ebay). Also, I can't get my stock one back in. At this point, I am starting to wonder if the oil pump shaft got misaligned somehow and it isn't mating in anymore...if that makes any sense to you guys.

I'm not 100% sure of what I should do next. Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated. I am in the Los Angeles area, so if anyone local has had this problem, please chime in. I appreciate you guys taking some time to look at my issue and help me out.

-Edgar

• Sponsors (?)

I've run into that problem before - I VERY SLIGHTLY rotated the engine a degree or two with a socket on the balancer bolt and it allowed the distributor to mesh with the cam and slide in. I also dropped some grease on the gears as well to help them slide in.