Need To Replace Engine: 2001 4.6

DiminishedMustang

Dec 3, 2012
Sup everyone! I'm looking for some info regarding engine replacement in one of these cars. As of now, I'm deciding how to attack this project, or whether I should even attempt at all. The engine in this car is knocking and the oil has metal particles in it. Therefore I'm convinced it needs another engine. I'm not new to pulling engines, but I'm new to Mustangs.

I'd appreciate any info from anyone who has gone through with the engine removal procedure. Thanks, and here's a pic of what I'm working with:

View attachment 138592

• Sponsors (?)

Might have gotten more input if you took the time to explain your goals. It makes a difference if you want to replace with another stock motor or looking to upgrade.

Often you get back what you put into something.

If looking for a cost affordable option, consider a salvage yard motor. Check car-part.com for sample prices.

Many members (including myself) have also used replacement motors from "Panther" cars (Crown Vic/Grand Marquis?Town car). There are tons of threads about the swaps on the forums. Have you searched any of them?

As for the engine removal procedures, I used the step by step in the Ford service manuals. The information is accurate and complete. It also includes pictures and diagrams.

What, you didn't get the response you wanted in 20 hours, so you threw a fit and left? Get a life.

Engine removal is straight forward and should be doable with standard tools. some say they can remove the engine in just under 2hrs, but that is with practice. You should be able to finish the job with a good weekend of work. The engine doesn't have to come out the bottom or anything odd like that, so a lift isn't required and the job can be done as a shade tree mechanic.

I would second using a used engine. Ford built them right and to last. Rebuilding yourself or buying a rebuilt will cost more and may have durability issues.