1987 Mass Airflow Sensor

I want to put a cold air intake into my car, and I'm fairly new to this stuff, but my 87 GT doesnt have a mass airflow unit, I have one but dont really know where to go from there as far as hooking it up to the computer goes. HELP

• Sponsors (?)

You can either buy an 89 Mustang computer harness and computer, and it will be plug and play, or you buy the computer and the maf conversion plug and splice it in that way. They also sell CAI's for non MAF cars as well

If your car isn't equipped to run mass air, then you cannot, nor do you need to, use a mass air meter. 87's were not mass air, but you can still use a cold air intake. They do make them for non-mass air cars, they just delete the mass air part. If you purchased a mass air cold air intake, you can make it work, you just need fab up some type of tubing to take the place of the mass air housing. Really, if you wanted to do it the ghetto way, you could still use a mass air housing, it just wouldn't be plugged in and would really have no other function.

If your car isn't equipped to run mass air, then you cannot, nor do you need to, use a mass air meter. 87's were not mass air, but you can still use a cold air intake. They do make them for non-mass air cars, they just delete the mass air part. If you purchased a mass air cold air intake, you can make it work, you just need fab up some type of tubing to take the place of the mass air housing. Really, if you wanted to do it the ghetto way, you could still use a mass air housing, it just wouldn't be plugged in and would really have no other function.

I haven't seen any cold air intakes without the spot for the mass air, I'll look harder though, thank you, it was very helpful

I want to put a cold air intake into my car, and I'm fairly new to this stuff, but my 87 GT doesnt have a mass airflow unit, I have one but dont really know where to go from there as far as hooking it up to the computer goes. HELP
First, Welcome to Stangnet!